Chicken Pot Pie

Well I’m still getting used to things around here in Philly. Our neighborhood is pretty nice, but I hate driving around here. It takes so long to get anywhere… So much traffic and no passing lanes anywhere, ugh!

Anywho, I’m loving making and storing food in my mason jars. They’re perfect for grab and go lunches and just about anything g else you can think of. Tonight I made individual chicken pot pie in mason jars and topped them with grands biscuits… Sooooo delicious! You guys have got to try this.

20140120-202009.jpg
I don’t have an exact recipe for you, I’m sure there are plenty on Pinterest, but this is what I used; 1 package of boneless skinless chicken thighs- boiled and then shredded, 1 box of mixed frozen veggies, 1 onion diced, milk or cream, flour, 1 chicken bullion and seasonings.
If you add spices and celery when you boil the chicken you can save it and use as broth when the chicken is finished. I cooked the onion in a pot with some olive oil until it was soft, then I threw in the frozen veggies and stirred that around for a min. Then I added two spoonfuls of flour and let that cook for a couple of mins. Add the chicken, some milk and chicken stock and the chicken bullion to the pot. Mix it together and bring to a boil. Once it’s boiling it should thicken up. Add spices to your liking then ladle the filling into the jars and top with one grands biscuit and pop into the oven for 15 minutes.

20140120-202152.jpg
This was soo good, and also my first time making a pot pie. Definitely going to have to do this one again!

Leave a Reply

